The Prime Minister Charlot Salwai, being the Minister responsible for the implementation Right To Information Act, has signed the third and the final Order of the Right To Information Act at the Parliament House in Port Vila attended by the Members of Parliament, the media, government officials and members of the public.

All Government agencies and relevant private entities are now required by law to respond to information requests by members of the public in a timely manner, the information must be accurate and it must be delivered to the person requesting in the format that they stated in their ‘Request for Information’ Application Form, except those under exemption.

The First Order was signed by the former Deputy Prime Minister Joe Natuman in 2017 to enforce public access to information in 7 government agencies, a further 52 government agencies were added in the Second Order signed by the former Deputy Prime Minister Bob Loughman in 2018.

The Third and Final Order signed by the Prime Minister legally enforces public access to government-held information to all the other government agencies and relevant private entities that were not included in the First and Second Order, these agencies include;

a)       The Ministry of Public Utilities and all Departments under its portfolio; and

b)       The Ministry of Youth Development and Sports and all Departments under its portfolio; and

c)       The Public Service Commission and Public Service Office; and

d)       The State Law Office; and

e)       Parliament House; and

f)        Offices under the Judiciary Sector; and

g)       All financial institutions that are wholly owned or in part by the Government; and

h)       Civil Aviation Department; and

i)         Airports Vanuatu Limited; and

j)         Air Vanuatu; and

k)       Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation; and

l)         Provincial Government Councils and Area Council Secretaries; and

m)     Public Schools and Private School throughout Vanuatu receives subsidies from the Government; and

n)       All Government Statutory Boards and Commissions; and

o)       Any other Government Agency or a relevant private entity that relates to any funding to it provided by the Government; and

p)       A Government Agency whose functions are carried out by a relevant private entity whether funded in whole or in part by the Government or by another organisation such as the local Non-Government Organisations and International Non-Government Organisations.

Designed by PG IT Consulting -